The LADA of Tromsø

You are looking at a 1973 LADA 21012 – a car not sold to private individuals in the USSR and one of only two left in Norway. Ronny, its proud owner, is all about the Soviet era and can beat any Swede with his passion towards American classic cars, Ronny drives a Soviet dream, a dream not even available in the Soviet union itself.

dscf5609

The LADA is all original, everything from headlights to the tool box in the boot! Everything is just as it was back in 1973 when for reasons unknown to man the vehicle was put on a container ship and sent off to serve the Vikings.

dscf5585
Ronny showing the car’s original owner’s documents, it’s 1973, guys!

I don’t think this story would ever have seen the light if not for Ronny’s obsession with the car, he’s done a very good job keeping it original.

dscf5594
It’s all about simplicity

He was kind enough to take me and my friend Stina for a ride across Tromso, I immediately felt 20 years younger!

DSCF5591.JPG
Stina enjoying the back seat, I bet she does not get that in her BMW M3 😉

I remember the sound of the engine, the smell of petrol all around the car that used to make me feel sick when I was a small kid… the Lada 2105 I bought when I turned 20 and which exhibited pretty much all the character of this 40-year old Lada… that was an amazing day in Tromso, I’d very much like to thank Ronny for making it happen!

dscf5602

(Serge Fog, 9 Sep 2016)

 

Leave a comment